Sinners and Saints

Forgive me blog for I have sinned. It has been 39 days since my las post. 

I have been away in sunny Queensland to escape the cold and deliver the Volunteering Qld “Natural Disaster Resilience Leadership Project” in 3 communities across the state: Kingaroy, Rosedale and Atherton.

IMG_0628Here I am being silly with the RLP group in Rosedale

During this time I have also been working on writing a chapter on community resilience for a US textbook called “Disasters and Public Health: Planning and Response”   by Bruce Clements. It is a great honour to have been invited to write this chapter and as the icing on the cake I will also be flying to present at the 6th Annual Preparedness Symposium in Galveston, Texas which will be held this year on the 5-7 November. It will be my first time visiting the USA and I am going to take the opportunity to meet up with family and friends while I’m there. Amazing!

shifts-happenI’ve been back in Melbourne a week now and another piece of very exciting news is that I have started a new job as the social media coordinator for an inspirational charity called Igniting Change which is led by the even more inspiring Jane Tewson. I’m really excited about taking on this one day a week role as it will give me a really unique platform from which to a) act on my values and support a really wonderful non-profit organisation, and b) build connections with community groups and organisations in Victoria. Igniting Change is really supportive of my creative work and hopefully I will be able to weave some of my artwork into the work I do with them.

IMG_0683This is some of the Igniting Change family on our visit 
with Twich Women’s Sewing Collective in Dandenong 

Meanwhile, getting back to my PhD studies, I will be presenting at a Student Graduate Symposium next week on where I am at with my research 6 months in. I will use this 30min slot as an opportunity to run a micro creative workshop which means that this weekend I will be chained to my sewing machine in order to get ready! Keep an eye out for photos next week.

IMG_0756Anyways, I’m back now! So expect more posts and more updates 🙂

Side note: I stayed up last night watching a really interesting documentary about “hacktivism” and the cyber group know as “Anonymous” – if you are interested in what civil disobedience looks like in this digital world of ours I highly recommend checking it out: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-zwDhoXpk90&feature=youtu.be 

Critical Information Infrastructure Protection

Leave a Reply

